Who can apply

Beneficiary of the Programme may be:

  • Public authorities (national institutions, regional and local authorities);
  • Public equivalent bodies, i.e. any legal body governed by public or private law:
    • established for the specific purpose of meeting needs for the general interest and not having industrial or commercial character,
    • having legal personality, and
      • either financed, for the most part, by the state, or regional or local authorities, or other bodies governed by public law;
      • or subject to management supervision by those bodies;
      • or having an administrative, managerial or supervisory board, where more than half of the members are appointed by the state, regional or local authorities or by other bodies governed by public law;
  • NGOs constituting legal bodies that have been established for the specific purpose of meeting needs for the general interest and not having an industrial or commercial character, and having legal personality.

Financing of the Programme can be assigned to projects that are:

  • implemented by at least two project partners of whom at least one from each Programme participating country;
  • implemented in the Programme area;
  • deliver a clear cross-border cooperation impact and benefits;
  • demonstrate added value to EU, national and regional strategies and programmes, and falling within one of the following categories:
    • Integrated projects, where each beneficiary implements a part of the activities of the project on its own territory;
    • Symmetrical projects, where similar activities are implemented in parallel in the participating countries;
    • Single-country projects, where projects are implemented mainly or entirely in one of the participating countries but for the benefit of all or some of the participating countries, and where cross-border impacts and benefits are identified.

The applications will be assessed by the Management Authority/ Joint Technical Secretariat together with Latvian and Russian regional and national authorities, with the advice of independent assessors where appropriate, using published eligibility, evaluation and award criteria.